Brand New

“Not was, not may be, nor will be. “The Lord is my shepherd.” He is on Sunday, on Monday, and through every day of the week. He is in January, in December, and every month of the year. He is when I am at home and in China. He is during peace or war, and in times of abundance or poverty”- Hudson Taylor

Friday was such an awesome day and blessing. Throughout life people experience highs and lows- Recently I feel like I was stuck more in the low part. Florida has been good to me but situations at home, money issues, and relationships have seemed stressed. It was hard not to feel the lowness of the valley I was in. Constantly though I was reminded of how faithful God is. Sometimes it is in your lowest that God uses you the most. Truly, in my weakness He makes me strong.

Recently my friends and I visited Florida Baptist Children’s Homes to throw a Valentine’s Day party for the girls that were there. It was a great time just to play with the younger girls, talk to the older ones, and hang out. I sincerely fell is love with these two sisters and I was humbled by the tragedies that they endured. It is funny how God allows certain connections to be made to draw both parties closer to Him. It was a powerful moment of vulnerable exposure, prayer, encouragement, healing, and smiles. For the first time in my life, I felt prepared, and it was nothing of my own doing.

Tons of dancing and a devotion

Dametree and I

There will be times when we will never have the right answers and explanations. Sometimes being there for someone never seems enough, but it is all that you can do. Sometimes listening and wiping tears exemplifies more love than words can and words spoken by the Spirit go farther than our own eloquent vocabulary. I don’t know why God allows certain things to happen but what I do know is that we have the choice to respond the best way we can. We can choose to be defeated or trust in the relentless God that mends the broken hearted and sets the captives free.

2 thoughts on “Brand New

  1. This is Dametree.. I love this picture of us, it really means alot to me, I would love to get in contact with you so that I can tell you how far i have come! You can find me on facebook my name is Dametree Hawkins…. Hope to hear from you soon:)

    • Dametree!!!! I’ve thought about you and your sister soooo many times after we met. It is great to hear from you and I would LOVE to catch up with you! You are amazing girl and God has awesome plans for your life. I’m going to find you on Facebook today! :) Love you!

Leave a Reply

