Count ’em all!

Let us continually offer to God a sacrifice of praise (Hebrews 13:15)

An inner-city missionary, stumbling through the trash of a dark apartment doorway, heard someone say, “Who’s there, Honey?” Lighting a match, he caught sight of earthly needs and suffering, amid saintly trust and peace. Calm, appealing eyes, etched in ebony, were set within the wrinkles of a weathered black face. On a bitterly cold night in February, she lay on a tattered bed, with no fire, no heat, and no light. Having no breakfast, lunch, or dinner, she seemed to have nothing at all, except for arthritis and faith in God. No one could have been further removed from comfortable circumstances, yet this favorite song of the dear lady played in the background:

Nobody knows the trouble I see, Nobody knows but Jesus; Nobody knows the trouble I see- Sing Glory Hallelu!

Sometimes I’m up, Sometimes I’m down, Sometimes I’m level on the ground. Sometimes the glory shines around- Sing Glory Hallelu!

And so it continued: “Nobody knows the work I do, Nobody knows the griefs I have,” the constant refrain being, “Glory Hallelu” until the last verse rose:

Nobody knows the joys I have, Nobody knows but Jesus.

“We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed” (2  Cor. 4:8-9)

(Excerpts from Streams in the Desert by L.B. Cowman)

Upon reading this I am reminded to take everyday as a blessing no matter how that day unfolds. And if my life is anything short of this woman’s story I better be screaming joy from the top of my lungs because I am extremely blessed. Of course nothing is perfect but that is life and humanity. Today has been a good day! I have learned more about my self, good and bad, and more about others. I had the opportunity to learn more today about God and had water and detergent to do my laundry, let alone clothes to wash! I’m swamped with homework but I have the opportunity to get an education!
I showered today, I walked around today, I ate today! I laughed today and cried today. I have people who love me and I have people to love.

Let’s not take for granted what God gives us each day! In every circumstance lift up praise and thanks because we have peace that we will make it through!

Hey! Before you go to bed, count how blessed you are.

I dare you.

Leave a Reply

