Shark Attack!

Alright, I can’t remember the last time I was at an aquarium but gosh, I rekindled my love and amazement of the sea this past weekend. I’ve heard it said before that we know more about the solar system than we do about the sea. I’m sure this can be debated depending which angle you look at but seriously, there are so many crazy creatures in the ocean… Like these:

Long-nosed Chimaera

Frilled Shark

Ocean Sunfish

Gross yet so appealing! Weird yet creative! Quick, let me put my black, large framed glasses on. You know, the ones with the tape in the middle? Ah, I love my inner nerd. In fact, I embrace her. Lucky for you, I didn’t post a picture of the largest squid ever recorded. These obviously were not at the aquarium (I wish) but that didn’t stop me from marveling over the other huge fish that were contained by barrels of water. Not to mention, the otters were flippin’ cute and I felt completely at peace when petting the stingrays.

Anyways, back to the day- ACDS, which stands for Association for Children with Down Syndrome sets up some sort of event each year for those who are involved in the ACDS program. This year was a get together at the Atlantis Aquarium in Riverhead, NY. People with down syndrome of all ages were present and it was so nice how they set everything up and included everyone. We had our own separate dining area, food catered by Applebees, at least 13 raffle baskets, and an ipad2 giveaway… but i’ll get to that later.

So after an awesome day with the family, observing sea life and walking around in a man made saltwater marsh what better way to end the day with winning an IPAD2!! Yeahhhh babyyyy! Soooo we entered into the little raffles first. There was a great tea set and then another raffle filled with Food Network cookbooks which I really wanted to win. I love tea and cooking/baking! This was of course before we entered into a separate raffle for the ipad. We really didn’t think anything about it and actually weren’t even going to try (my mom thought that they were raffling an ipod- Oh, mom). I mean everyone was entering in for it. One lady threw down 50 bucks. After all of the baskets were gone and the ipad winner was the last to be announced-…what are the chances?! A little child went up, stuck his hand in the bag of disheveled tickets, and then I heard in slow motion… “Campa- pause- ne-ally?” Yesssss! Yessss! Who even cares that our name was mispronounced; we claimed our prize. Thank you Jesus for the blessing! The thing is so cool and my blog looks super sexy on it. Just sayin’.

So it seems like pastors have really been gravitating to the ipad for sermon preparation… is this a sign?!

Ha, so long bloggers.

Leave a Reply

